Protecting Our Youth

INTERNET SAFETY:

Preventing Cyberbullying: https://www.sunshinebehavioralhealth.com/resources/preventing-cyberbullying/

Microsoft Online Safety Resources: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/online-safety/resources?activetab=pivot1%3aprimaryr5

Netsmartz: https://www.missingkids.org/NetSmartz

National Cybersecurity Alliance – Raising Digital Citizens: https://staysafeonline.org/get-involved/at-home/raising-digital-citizens/

Federal Trade Commission – Protecting Kids Online: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/topics/protecting-kids-online

Federal Trade Commission – Online Safety Resources for Educators: https://www.consumer.ftc.gov/features/feature-0003-educators

 

CHILD AND FAMILY HEALTH:

Florida Department of Children and Families: https://www.myflfamilies.com/

U. S. Department of Health and Human Services – Child Welfare Information Gateway: https://www.childwelfare.gov/topics/systemwide/service-array/health/

American Academy of Pediatrics – HealthyChildren.org: https://healthychildren.org/English/Pages/default.aspx

Florida Department of Health: http://www.floridahealth.gov/index.html

National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health: https://nationalcenter.preventblindness.org/resources-for-parents-and-caregivers/

 

MENTAL HEALTH:

Crisis Text Line – Text HOME to 741741 to text with a crisis counselor for free (24/7)

Heart of Florida United Way – provides referrals for crisis needs (call 2-1-1)

Aspire Health Partners – not for profit mental health services provider in Central Florida

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline – call or text to 800.273.8255

 

EDUCATION & LITERACY

CHILDREN:

U. S. Department of Education – for Parents: https://www2.ed.gov/parents/landing.jhtml

Starfall (some free content): https://www.starfall.com/h/index.php

RoomRecess.com (learning games for kids): https://www.roomrecess.com/

FunBrain (variety of online books and educational games, sorted by grade): https://www.funbrain.com/

 

TWEENS & TEENS:

FSA Portal https://fsassessments.org/fsa.html

U. S. Department of Education – for Parents: https://www2.ed.gov/parents/landing.jhtml

ALA: Best Fiction for Young Adults http://www.ala.org/yalsa/best-fiction-young-adults
An annual list of the most outstanding YA fiction.

NoveList http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,cpid&custid=s4444063
Book reviews, genre lists and Lexile and Accelerated Reader ratings.

Poetry Foundation https://www.poetryfoundation.org/
Poems and articles about poets and poetry.

Purdue Online Writing Lab https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/purdue_owl.html
Numerous writing resources, including an MLA, APA, and Chicago citation and style guides.

 

ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNING:

Colorín Colorado: https://www.colorincolorado.org/es/familias

ESL Lounge: https://www.esl-lounge.com/student/

Elllo: https://www.elllo.org/

UsingEnglish.com: https://www.usingenglish.com/

 

MEDIA LITERACY:

Media Literacy Now: https://medialiteracynow.org/resources-for-parents/

News Literacy Project: https://newslit.org/

NewseumED: https://newseumed.org/medialiteracy

National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE) - A Parent’s Guide to Media Literacy: https://namle.net/a-parents-guide-to-media-literacy/

 

LGBTQIA+:

The Trevor Project – provides 24/7 crisis support services to LGBTQ young people. Text, chat, or call anytime to reach a trained counselor.

Zebra Coalition (Orlando) –network of organizations which provide services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and all youth (LGBTQ+) ages 13 – 24, assisting young people facing homelessness, bullying, isolation from their families, and physical, sexual and drug abuse

The Center Orlando – provides health- and mental health-related programs and services for all ages

MoneyGeek Financial and Social Resources for Homeless LGBTQ+ Young Adults - state and national helplines, shelters and other organizations that can help, along with tips for how to avoid homelessness. If you are among the LGBTQ+ homeless youth in America, these resources can help you find support and a safe home.

MoneyGeek - Fighting Housing Insecurity: Resources & Guide - resources to help you navigate the resources available, including specific support for veterans, families, seniors and college students.